May 17, 2021

Government Accountability Project Applauds January 6 Commission Legislation

WASHINGTON—On Friday, May 14, Committee on Homeland Security Chairman Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS) and Ranking Member John Katko (R-NY) introduced legislation to form a January 6 commission. The bill, entitled the National Commission to Investigate the January 6 Attack on the United States Capitol Complex Act, proposes a bipartisan and independent commission that will study the facts and influencing factors surrounding the acts of terrorism that took place January 6 on the Capitol, resulting in a final report and recommendations to prevent future attacks by December 31, 2021.

Protecting democracy requires the truth. We applaud this legislation as an important step in reaffirming our systems of government.

Government Accountability Project’s CEO and Executive Director Louis Clark said:

“As most Americans recognize, on January 6 we came as close as we have ever come since the Civil War as a nation toward losing our democratic Republic. Without a thorough examination of all the factors at play that contributed to that catastrophic and deadly event at the Capitol, we will betray our precious heritage. Without such a non-partisan and independent study, we will even potentially doom ourselves to a repeat of the insurrection as well as miss an invaluable opportunity to shore up our democracy, reenforce the rule of law and preserve our Republic as Benjamin Franklin himself prophesied that we would need to do from time to time.”


Contact: Andrew Harman, Government Accountability Project Communications Director
Phone: 202.926.3304


Government Accountability Project is the nation’s leading whistleblower protection organization. Through litigating whistleblower cases, publicizing concerns and developing legal reforms, Government Accountability Project’s mission is to protect the public interest by promoting government and corporate accountability. Founded in 1977, Government Accountability Project is a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization based in Washington, D.C.