*3/8/11 UPDATE: Senator McConnell’s office has confirmed that he did not place the secret hold. Three senators left!

*3/4/11 UPDATE: Senator Vitter’s office confirmed that he did not place the hold.

Dear GAP Supporters:

Last month, GAP teamed up with the NPR show On The Media to determine which senator placed a “secret hold” — on the very last day of the 2009-2010 Congress — to kill the Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act (WPEA). This good government law would have provided federal employees with real protections when they expose fraud, corruption, waste, or other wrongdoing. These protections are sorely needed — most federal employees have minimal or remarkably weak protections.

Our campaign is working. You and On The Media‘s supporters have eliminated all but five senators. That’s right — all of the other senators’ offices have confirmed that they did not place the hold.

Sign the Petition Urging these Senators to Admit or Deny Placing the Secret Hold!

At the time of this eAlert, the suspects are:

Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
James Risch (R-ID)
Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
David Vitter (R-LA) 

We’re asking you to support our simple belief: Senators — our public representatives — should take responsibility for their actions.

Please exercise your voice as taxpayers and concerned citizens: Contact these five remaining Senators and demand that they either take responsibility for blocking this government accountability bill, or provide confirmation that they did not place the secret hold.