March 12, 2024 

Congressman Jamie Raskin Awarded Ridenhour Courage Prize 

WASHINGTON – Congressman Jamie Raskin has been chosen to receive the Ridenhour Courage Prize, which is presented to an individual in recognition of their courageous and life-long defense of the public interest and passionate commitment to social justice.  

Congressman Raskin is the U.S. Representative for Maryland’s 8th Congressional District. He serves as the Ranking Member on the House Committee on Oversight and Accountability. He served as the Lead House Manager in the second Senate impeachment trial of former President Donald Trump, which ended with a 57-43 vote to convict the president for inciting a violent insurrection against the government to overthrow the 2020 presidential election. Congressman Raskin also served on the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol and served three terms on the House Judiciary, Oversight and Administration Committees. Prior to Congress, Raskin was a three-term State Senator in Maryland and a professor of constitutional law for more than a quarter-century at American University Washington College of Law. The author of Unthinkable: Trauma, Truth, and the Trials of American Democracy, Congressman Raskin is a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Law School, where he served as an Editor of the Harvard Law Review.  

The selection committee cited, “your extraordinary and inspiring public service in defense of the Constitution in the wake of serious domestic threats to democracy and the rule of law.” 

The annual Ridenhour Prizes, now in their 20th year, recognize those who persevere in acts of truth-telling that protect the public interest, promote social justice or illuminate a more just vision of society. These prizes memorialize the spirit of fearless truth-telling that Ron Ridenhour, the My Lai massacre whistleblower and George Polk award-winning investigative reporter, reflected throughout his extraordinary life and career. 

Congressman Raskin will be given the Ridenhour Courage Prize on March 28, 2024 at the 20th Annual Ridenhour Prizes Gala at the Watergate Hotel in Washington, DC. To learn more or purchase tickets for this event, visit the Ridenhour Prizes website.

Contact: Charlotte McCann, Ridenhour Prize Event Coordinator  

Phone: (202) 926-3323  

Email: [email protected]